

Instrument of Governance Voluntary Aided CE Schools

- 1. The name of the School is Bishop Cornish Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School.
- 2. The School is a Voluntary Aided School.
- 3. The name of the governing body is 'The governing body of Bishop Cornish Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School'.
- 4. The governing body shall consist of:
 - Two elected parent governors;
 - One LA governor;
 - One Co-opted Governor;
 - Two staff governors (includes head teacher and one elected teacher);
 - Eight foundation governors, of whom four shall, at the time of appointment, be eligible for election or appointment as parent governors. Foundation governors must be a majority of two.
- 5. The total number of governors is fourteen (14).
- 6. Foundation governors will be nominated by the Parochial Church Councils of St. Stephen's by Saltash and Saltash Parish Church (SS Nicholas & Faith), and appointed by the Diocese of Truro.
 - a. The holders of the following offices shall be a foundation governor ex-officio:
 - i) The Team Rector of Saltash
 - ii) The Rural Dean of the Deanery of East Wivelshire.
 - b. the foundation body or person named in paragraph 6 shall be entitled to appoint foundation governors to act in the place of the ex-officio foundation governors whose governorship derives from the office named in (a) above, in the event that one or both of the ex-officio foundation governors is unable or unwilling to act as a foundation governor, or has been removed from office under regulation 23(2) of the Regulations.



- 7. The Diocese of Truro is entitled to request the removal of any ex-officio foundation governor and to appoint any substitute governor.
- 8. The following statement summarizes the ethos of the school:
 - This is a Church of England School in the Diocese of Truro. Recognizing its historical foundation, the school will preserve and develop its religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the Church at parish and diocesan level.
 - The school aims to serve its community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. It encourages an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith and promotes Christian values through the experience it offers to all its pupils.
- 9. The term of office of all categories of governors (except ex-officio governors) is four years (unless agreed otherwise). Ex-officio governors remain in post during the time in which they hold the appropriate office.
- 10. This instrument of government came into effect on 23rd March 2021.
- 11. This instrument was made by order of Cornwall Local Authority.



GOVERNORS OF BISHOP CORNISH SCHOOL

Name	Type of Governor	Appointing body
Mrs Sarah Adkins	Foundation	Diocesan Board of Education
Reverend Diane Burrows	Foundation (Rural Dean)	Diocesan Board of Education
Mr Chris Clark	Foundation	Diocesan Board of Education
Team Rector of Saltash (vacancy)	Foundation	Ex-officio
Cllr Hilary Frank	Local Authority	Cornwall County Council
Mrs Jill Carter	Foundation (Parent)	Diocesan Board of Education
Mrs Sally Hutchings	Foundation (Parent)	Diocesan Board of Education
Mrs Teresa Lindeyer	Foundation (Parent)	Diocesan Board of Education
Mrs Helen Reid	Foundation (Parent)	Diocesan Board of Education
Mr Ben Elford	Parent	Parent body
Mrs Jasmine Oates	Parent	Parent body
Ms Emma Clapham	Parent	Co-opted
Mrs Sue Green	Head Teacher	Ex-officio
Mrs Emma Nile	Teacher	Staff electorate